Lists and Challenges · Non-Review Posts

Top Ten Reads of 2020!

Well, we’re weeks into 2021, but better late than never getting this post up, right? Honestly, this was so hard because the quality of the books I read this year was just so dang high across the board. Like, I think most of my top 30 reads from this year would beat most my top 10 from last year. (Though don’t get me wrong, there were some absolute stunners from last year that are still all time favs.)

I read a lot of great fiction and nonficiton both this year, and I feel weird comparing them to each other, so I do have a few extras to share with you on this year’s list. I’ll be giving my Top Ten Fiction from 2020 (plus 2 honorable mentions because I make the rules here, so I’ll do what I want, haha), as well as a Top Three Nonfiction (plus an “honorable mention” there, too). I just…I couldn’t choose. But I’m keeping the “Top Ten” title on this post because I need it to match the past two years (Top Ten 2018 and Top Ten 2019) for aesthetic purposes. Haha.

Here’s a stack of all the 2020 favorites that I own – a number were library books or audiobooks!

Andddddddddd, here we go (in no particular order)!


Top Ten Fiction of 2020

This is How You Lose the Time War by Amal El-Mohtar and Max Gladstone

Cantoras by Carolina De Robertis

Girl, Woman, Other by Bernardine Evaristo

Gideon the Ninth by Tamsyn Muir

A Memory Called Empire by Arkady Martine

The Vanished Birds by Simon Jimenez

You Exist Too Much by Zaina Arafat

Memorial by Bryan Washington

Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall

You Should See Me in a Crown by Leah Johnson

Fiction Honorable Mentions

You Had Me at Hola by Alexis Daria

The Lost Queen by Signe Pike


Top Three Nonfiction of 2020

Know My Name by Chanel Miller

In the Dream House by Carmen Maria Machado

Long Live the Tribe of Fatherless Girls by T Kira Madden

Nonfiction Honorable Mention

(because it feels wrong both “ranking” this one and not including it)

Stamped From the Beginning by Ibram X. Kendi

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Reads of 2020!

Leave a comment