Lists and Challenges · Non-Review Posts

Top “Ten” Reads of 2021!

As per usual, my top reads of the year list is getting published at the end of the first month of the following year. I guess I get points for consistency? But seriously, credit to all the book bloggers that manage to get these lists out there faster – color me impressed. Also, if I’m giving myself questionable consistency points, this “top ten” title is only there so my posts match year to year, as there will absolutely be more than ten books in this post. As always. In point of fact, there will be sixteen: thirteen fiction and three nonfiction.

Honestly, I blame the books/authors. There were honestly that many amazing ones. This list is less than half of the total 5-star rated reads I got through last year. (If you’re interested, I have all of them in a highlight on my IG profile.) So, yea, 2021 was a great reading year for me.

This photo is not a comprehensive representation of the books that made my “2021 favs” list. These are just the ones I own. The rest were library borrows, because libraries are the best!

One last thing before I jump into the list itself. If you are interested, here are links to my top “ten” reads from previous years:

Top “Ten” 2020

Top “Ten” 2019

Top “Ten” 2018

And now, let’s get to it! (In no particular order…)


Top 13 Fiction Reads of 2021

The Space Between Worlds by Micaiah Johnson

Against the Loveless World by Susan Abulhawa

The Ground, and the Galaxy Within by Becky Chambers

Seven Days in June by Tia Williams

Infinite Country by Patricia Engel

On a Sunbeam by Tillie Walden

The Secret Lives of Church Ladies by Deesha Philyaw

Payback’s a Witch by Lana Harper

The Final Revival of Opal & Nev by Dawnie Walton

Legendborn by Tracy Deonn

Detransition, Baby by Torrey Peters

Harrow the Ninth by Tamsyn Muir

The Office of Historical Corrections by Danielle Evans


Top 3 Nonfiction Reads of 2021

The Undocumented Americans by Karla Cornejo Villavicencio

The Sum of Us by Heather McGhee

The Collected Schizophrenias by Esme Weijun Wang


Well, there it is! Maybe my toughest year of narrowing down favorites to date, but it’s hard to complain about too many spectacular reads. See any that you loved too? Any that you have been planning to read? Any news ones added to your TBR after this post? Comment and let me know!

Leave a comment